A Romantic Train Ride

Jon dropped us off at Union Station on Day 97, Friday, September 11.  I took care of checking in and seeing about a bike box, and walked over to Deborah who was waiting by a railing.  All of a sudden, people came running out of a hallway shouting about gun fire.  A security officer was yelling “Clear the building!”.    So we did.  IMG_1122

I took my friend (the bike) with me.  We all waited for about an hour across the driveway until they gave us an all clear.

There were uniformed police everywhere.20150911_131208 It turned out that some guy stabbed his girl friend, or X-girl friend, and a security officer shot him.  We found out later that he died from his wounds.

Nice start to a romantic train ride, right?

From there, things went pretty smoothly, except for the long delay to get on the train.  (Security was pretty tight after the event.)

We rode in a regular car over night to Chicago and made a transfer to a sleeper, where we had our own berth, from Chicago to Portland.

The pictures you’ll see are from the train as we traveled west.

But First:

Deborah is the woman I married 37 years ago.  I left her at home while I rode on this three month journey.  She supported my decision to do this thing, but I think she was pretty scared that I might get run over by a semi or an RV.  I did everything I could to be safe on this journey, not just for my own sake but for her sake as well.  (If I got run over by truck, she would kill me.) 

The last hug we had in Lincoln City, before I left, was very difficult.  We both had tears in our eyes and she whispered, “Please, come back.”  I rode off to the east.

When I got to finally embrace Deborah at Rehoboth beach, it felt sooo.. good.  That was the moment that I new the bike journey was complete.  There was still adrenaline flowing in my body, so the full emotion did not exhibit itself then.  It wasn’t until we were lying in bed that night in our hotel room that we embraced each other and sobbed for awhile.  I didn’t know how much I missed her until that moment.

I cherish this woman, she is the love of my life.  We have been apart for a week or ten days before this, but this separation was the longest that we have endured. Though we were apart, I did feel connected to her the entire journey. While riding on long hot days, I would reflect on how grateful I was to be in a relationship with such a “delightful” woman. She brightens every day of my life. 

While riding, my eyes would immediately tear up, and I would get that lump in my throat as I continued down the road or path thinking of her.

I am truly grateful for our life together.

Deborah, I love you with all my heart and soul.

Wade

Now the pics:

 

View from train - Copy
Friday, on the train, headed for Chicago.  We slept in our seats that night.

The next few pictures are in Glacier National Park, Montana, Saturday evening.

20150913_18323720150913_18373220150913_18513620150913_19035520150913_191511 - Copy

Getting close to home after a night, sleeping in our berth of the sleeper car.

20150914_090002
Sunday morning, and we were on the Washington side of the Columbia River.  Role on Columbia, Role ….
20150914_083355
The Columbia with our first sighting of Mount Hood. ….  Almost home….

 

20150914_082248
Closer.

 

20150914_084643
Our favorite Mountain.   Yes …. this is still Mount Hood.

When we got to our son’s house (that would be Travis’) in Portland, This is what we saw.  That’s the rear tire of our Prius.  Is that irony Jonathan?

20150914_104011

Les Schwab Tires took care of us and we drove home to Dallas, Oregon …  We were home and the journey was finally complete.  Well, … not quite, I still needed to unpack.

I am still unpacking by rewriting and revising this blog.  I’ll be sharing stories from this journey for a while yet.  … Until the next adventure ……….

Thanks for coming along.

 

 

 

Leave a comment